top of page
  • Writer's pictureJanet Sibanda

The Parent Role in Online Education


It is no secret that I have a long-standing love-hate (more hate than love) relationship with homeschooling/ online learning. With two children aged nine and five, I have my work cut out for me.


This pandemic has truly revealed my true nature, and I am not ashamed to say I cannot wait to hand my children back over to their real Educators. I do, however, take pride in my abilities as an Educator in the school of life.


Needless to say, my feelings about the subject matter have been relegated to the background when confronted by my innate need to see my children thrive. Nothing beats maternal instinct right?


That said, I sought the expertise of an Educator and Child Psychologist, Mr Elton Gomori, to help me better navigate this seemingly simple, yet complex monster called homeschooling/online education. I figured, if I am going to do this thing, I need to have basic skills in managing this 'virtual' generation of humans. Mr Gomori went onto share numerous insights around safety, consistency and quality control.


Did I mention I have a short concentration span? I can, however, safely say I picked my own golden nuggets, especially the one about parents staying in their lane (wink wink). It is my hope that you too will be able to pick important tips and tricks to help you navigate this space. Technology did a number on me the day of recording, therefore please watch with your sixth sense.






9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page